Skip to content ↓

Skegness Academy


Ms S Burgin

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Children’s Play, Learning and Development.


  1. Children's Development (Examination)
  2. Development of Children's Communication, Literacy and Numeracy Skills (Controlled conditions)
  3. Play and Learning (Assignments)
  4. Keeping Children Safe (Assignments)


The course is equivalent of one GCE A level and is taken as a double option in year 12 of the Sixth Form.  It is assessed by one examination, one externally marked controlled conditions task and 2 coursework units.  Grades A - E are available.

Who should consider taking this course?

Anyone interested in a career working with children aged 0-8 years. The course will provide insight into how children develop and learn through play.

Where could the course lead?

The course can be extended at a college into the Level 3 National Early Years Diploma or other relevant courses, such as Early Years Educator, which trains students as Early Years professionals. It also provides UCAS points towards university courses in Early Years services or primary teaching.

Click here for information on the Pearson BETC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Children's Play

Cambridge Nationals level1/2 Child Development

Our Cambridge National in Child Development covers all aspects of child development and parental responsibility, from conception to five years. Students develop the essential theoretical knowledge and practical skills needed to create the best conditions for a child’s development and well-being


There are three mandatory units 2 coursework based and 1 external exam unit.

The units provide an overview of the roles and responsibilities of parenthood, from pre-conception through antenatal to postnatal care. Students develop an appreciation of the importance of creating the best conditions for a child to thrive. Students learn about the range of equipment and nutritional and hygiene requirements of children from birth to five years, and they demonstrate in a practical activity how these needs are met to promote a child’s development and well-being. Students investigate the developmental norms of children from birth to five years and develop an understanding of the impact of play on the developmental norms. They apply and demonstrate their knowledge and understanding through practical activities.

Who should consider taking this course?

Students wanting to understand the way in which children grow and develop. Progressing onto a career that involves first-hand involvement with children between the ages of 0-8 years including Teaching, play workers, paediatrics, Nursery worker, Early Help support, etc.

Where could the course lead?

The course could give the foundations to progress onto our sixth from Level 3 qualification or those similar in higher education.

Equivalent to one GCSE.